I have thought about this post for a while now....not sure if I should write it or not. Why adopt? I know many people have asked this, and most certainly thought it without actually asking. My question is....

Why NOT adopt?
 
I was lucky...grew up with a mom, dad (still married, too), and a sister. I went to church, had enough food to eat, a warm bed (and my own room), great vacations, and always had more than I could ever ask for. One of the things my parents taught me was to be compassionate. They were always doing for others without ever asking for anything in return....they still do. I guess you could say I took this whole-heartedly. I hated to see suffering...it didn't matter if it was God's tiniest creature or a person...it always stung my heart to see someone hurting. It still does today. 

Why NOT adoption?  There are millions of children worldwide that need a home. Plus, it is instructed by God to "care for the orphans and widows". Adoption is something I have thought about since I was young and have prayed about for quite some time. There is enough love in my heart to "love one more"...have an extra bedroom...have family and friends that will love on this child...and have a God so big that will make this happen. It won't be easy...there is so much that will have to happen...a homestudy, paperwork, funds to raise...adjustments to a new family, to America...the list goes on and on. I won't lie...the biggest burden right now is the cost...it is overwhelming and scary...but yet my heart and faith are believing that God will provide. It might be a dime at a time, but HE will provide. 

"In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: "It is more blessed to give than to receive." Acts 20:35

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=ExUk0kxD-4s



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Jill and I am a Christian with a love for life, my husband, my children, and my Lord! We are on this journey together to bring another child into our home through adoption!